Information on ABBA’s unreleased track and news of a new icethesite competition

Win a signed copy...

As previously reported at ABBA – The Official Site, April 23, 2012 will see the release of The Visitors Deluxe Edition: the original album with bonus tracks plus a DVD of rare and previously unreleased television material.

icethesite will have one copy for you to win – please see details further down the article.

The announcement that this Deluxe Edition would include the previously unreleased recording ‘From A Twinkling Star To A Passing Angel (demos)’ – the first release of unheard ABBA music since 1994 – caused quite a sensation in the media, with this exciting piece of news being reported in all corners of the world.

We are now happy to reveal a few more details about this Extra Bonus Track. ‘From A Twinkling Star To A Passing Angel’ traces the evolution of ‘Like An Angel Passing Through My Room’, the closing track on The Visitors. Back in 1981, this particular song was one of the more challenging tunes during original recording sessions for the album. With the first demos and backing tracks being laid down in May 1981, it wasn’t until several different versions later, in November 1981 – only three weeks before the album reached record shops! – that ABBA finally landed on the version heard on the album.

As the Deluxe Edition of The Visitors was put together, ABBA’s Benny Andersson had the idea that it would be interesting to revisit the various recordings of the song and put together a medley. And this he did in October and November of 2011. The nine-minute medley takes us from the very first demo, with vocals by Björn, to a run-through with Benny on electric piano and Frida on lead vocals, similar to the final version.

In between are a demo recording by Frida and Benny (on grand piano) with alternate lyrics entitled ‘Another Morning Without You’; a completely different “disco” attempt, played by a full band and with the final lyrics in place; and a ballad interpretation, also with a full band backing, featuring Frida on lead vocals. “It was fun to put this thing together, just to show what the process can be like,” says Benny Andersson. “It’s an interesting observation on how you labour over things before you reach the final result.”

Elsewhere on The Visitors Deluxe Edition, the original album has been expanded with bonus tracks to include ‘Should I Laugh Or Cry’, recorded during sessions for The Visitors but only used as the B-side of the ‘One Of Us’ single. The Deluxe Edition features a version with a brief count-in, which was originally released on the ‘One Of Us’ single in Great Britain and South Africa. The remaining bonus tracks cover ABBA’s final singles and recording sessions in 1982.

The DVD of this Deluxe Edition opens with two performances from the television special Dick Cavett Meets ABBA, where ABBA previewed two tracks from their forthcoming album: ‘Two For The Price Of One’ and ‘Slipping Through My Fingers’. Another selection from the original broadcast of the TV special is the video for ‘When All Is Said And Done’, which featured an edit that differs slightly from the version heard on the album – this video is included here with its rare original soundtrack in stereo.

Also featured are two lengthy television appearances, which ABBA made as they were promoting their 1982 singles ‘The Day Before You Came’ and ‘Under Attack’, along with the compilation album The Singles – The First Ten Years. The first comes from Great Britain and the second from Sweden, wherein the group also performed ‘Under Attack’. Rounding off the DVD are four vintage commercials for The Visitors and The Singles – The First Ten Years, and a gallery of selected sleeves from the 1981–1982 era.

Win The Visitors Deluxe Edition CD signed by Benny & Björn

Look out for a brand new competition coming along in the next few weeks. One in which you could win a copy of the brand new Deluxe Edition of The Visitors after it has passed through Benny and Björn’s hands on its way to you! I have also asked if Agnetha and Frida would also like to sign the CD but as yet it is not clear if they will or not. This is a Benny and Björn site after all!

Nevertheless, I hope you will agree that this is still a fantastic prize and well worth winning (and I am very grateful to Benny and Björn). Stay tuned to icethesite for details of how to enter.

Related link:


  • A nice update re the additional unreleased track. Makes me look forward to the release even more. Keep up the good work Ice really appreciated.

  • Thrilled in waiting for

  • That’s really a great gift for a winning fan!!!!! :-)))

  • brill 🙂

  • Hi, It’s a great idea this Deluxe edition and the competition. A great gift!! Greetings

  • I cant wait. Thank you icethesite for all this great information, and thanks Benny and Bjoern. Say hello to the girls please, smile.

    Love you guys, your dear fan,

    Markus Schmidt

  • Hej,

    thank you for being here with all this news :-)) … I can’t wait

    Many love from Germany

  • Thanks a lot Ice, for all you do.


  • This sounds like the most exciting ABBA release since the Visitors itself came out. It would have been great if they had filmed the creation of this as well like the Rolling Stones ‘Sympathy for the devil’, but even without that the suspense is killing me, I can’t wait until April.

  • I’am looking forward to this release in April so much. Thanks ice for this wonderful site.

  • Hi Ice,

    Thank you for your write-up of this exciting news 🙂 . It was great to read after not having been able to have the time for quite a while to visit your website properly for ages (due to my partner’s health and his recovery from major surgery).

    I feel that the Deluxe Edition of ‘The Visitors ‘ will be just as wonderfully satisfying as was the Deluxe Edition of ‘Super Trouper’ 🙂 . And it’s so fantastic that Benny decided to produce the demo of ‘From A Twinkling Star To A Passing Angel’. If you’re reading this Benny …and extreme thank-you to you 😀 . I’m still hoping that A, B, B, A and Universal will decide to release Deluxe Editions of the ‘Ring Ring’ and ‘ABBA’ albums, as there would be a treasure-trove of treats (For ‘Ring Ring’, for example, it’d be great fun if they released a high-res version of the ‘Love Isn’t Easy (But It Sure Is Hard Enough)’ clip, where ABBA are walking along a river, Frida & Benny and Agnetha & Björn bumping each other; Frida even tweaking Benny’s beard 😉 . And, of course, the ‘ABBA’ release would definitely be incomplete if it didn’t have the complete version of ‘ABBA Made in Sweden for Export’ on its DVD. More hints in the direction of Sweden 😉 . Then there’s DVD’s releases, started off by ‘ABBA in Japan’ that “need” to be continued 😉 . Hmm… the hints could be endless. Mr Ice, dearest sir, could you hint for any of these things (and any others that you can think of) when you next liaise with our fave Swedes 😉 ).

    Hey, I just thought of something! Maybe you could install an ‘e-Hint-List’ or ‘i-Hint-List’, where us fans could enter our wishes for ABBA goodies to be released. And it could include a tally-system to count the number of times a request has been entered. Then that could be conveyed to Frida, Agnetha, Benny, Björn and Universal, from where we would then all keep our fingers crossed 🙂 .

    (I’m sorry that I sound like I’ve been drinking too much raspberry cordial …it’s just my usual ‘ABBA-excitement-ometer’ going off again 😉 ).

    Cheers for now, from Australia 🙂


  • So what’s the story with this? It never appeared in the HMV shop.
    I realize it can be obtained online , but I feel the fact its not on the shelf along side all the other deluxe additions isn’t some thing to celebrate.
    Are they re-thinking the bonus track.

Please leave a comment...