‘Ring Ring Deluxe Edition’ due out on 14 October

14 October 2013 sees the release of 'Ring Ring Deluxe Edition'
‘Ring Ring Deluxe Edition’ features a 20 page illustrated booklet and is crammed with bonus tracks

The next release in the ABBA Deluxe Edition series, scheduled for a 14 October release date, revisits ABBA’s début album, Ring Ring, originally issued forty years ago this year.

Featuring the very first ABBA recording, People Need Love, along with well-known tracks such as He Is Your Brother and the groundbreaking title track, the original album has been expanded with no less than 13 bonus tracks, 4 of which are new to CD, plus a DVD of rare television material.

Carl Magnus Palm
Carl Magnus Palm

‘ABBA author’ Carl Magnus Palm has once again researched the track listing and the memorabilia and wrote the liner notes.

Do take some time to read about how the Deluxe Edition of Ring Ring came together, including the history of the album and details about each of the bonus tracks on Carl Magnus Palm’s website (link below) where he discusses the details of Ring Ring Deluxe Edition.

From the official ABBA website:

The first disc in the 2-disc package is a CD, which features the original album plus 13 bonus tracks. The bonus selections seek to expand the view of the album by including not only various non-album single sides, but also the rare original versions of the album tracks I Saw It In The Mirror and I Am Just A Girl, both of which were Björn and Benny productions for other artists.

The scope of ABBA’s early years is further expanded by bonus tracks such as the rare 1970 recording There’s A Little Man, featuring Agnetha on backing vocals, her first contribution to a recording written and produced by Björn and Benny; Man vill ju leva lite dessemellan, a 1972 hit single for Frida featuring backing vocals by her fellow ABBA members; En hälsning till våra parkarrangörer, an ultra-rare spoken-word promotion single from 1972 on which the four ABBA members talk up their 1973 tour of Sweden; Hej gamle man!, the 1970 hit recording that was the first to feature all four ABBA members; and the 1971 single Välkommen till världen by Lill-Babs, written and produced by Benny and enhanced by prominent backing vocals by the four future ABBA members.

The DVD features rare television performances of People Need Love and Ring Ring from Swedish and Austrian TV, respectively, plus a 2012 report from Swedish television wherein Benny tells the story of the writing and recording of Ring Ring, the first song to feature the famous multi-layered ABBA sound. In the report, Benny goes in-depth on the group’s creative process, isolating the different tracks on the original multi-track tape.

The package also includes a 20-page illustrated booklet featuring an extensive essay on the making of the album.

Don’t miss out on this Deluxe Edition of Ring Ring – featuring Agnetha, Björn, Benny and Frida’s first steps towards international stardom!


DISC 01: CD:

  •  1. Ring Ring
  •  2. Another Town, Another Train
  •  3. Disillusion
  •  4. People Need Love
  •  5. I Saw It In The Mirror
  •  6. Nina, Pretty Ballerina
  •  7. Love Isn’t Easy (But It Sure Is Hard Enough)
  •  8. Me And Bobby And Bobby’s Brother
  •  9. He Is Your Brother
  •  10. She’s My Kind Of Girl
  •  11. I Am Just A Girl
  •  12. Rock’n Roll Band

Bonus tracks:

  •  13. Ring ring (bara du slog en signal) (Swedish Version)
  •  14. Merry-Go-Round
  •  15. Santa Rosa
  •  16. Ring Ring (Spanish Version)
  •  17. Wer im Wartesaal der Liebe Steht (German Version of Another Town, Another Train)
  •  18. Ring Ring (German Version)
  •  19. En hälsning till våra parkarrangörer
  •  Extra bonus tracks – Early versions:
  •  20. Hej gamle man! / Björn & Benny
  •  21. There’s A Little Man / Billy G-son
  •  22. I Saw It In The Mirror / Billy G-son
  •  23. Jag är blott en man / Jarl Kulle
  •  24. Man vill ju leva lite dessemellan / Anni-Frid Lyngstad
  •  25. Välkommen till världen / Lill-Babs


  • 1. People Need Love (Vi i femman, SVT)
  • 2. Ring Ring (Spotlight, ORF)
  • 3. Ring Ring revealed (Låtarna som förändrade musiken, UR)
  • 4. International Sleeve Gallery

Related link:


  • Great package once again with only one strange omission. Åh vilka tider, b-side of the Swedish version of Ring Ring is not included. It would be intereting to know why this song has been left out.

    Åh vilka tider will remain the only official Abba-track that is not included on the Deluxe edition packages. It can be only found on expensive boxed sets and in the Swedish version of 18 Hits.

    I wonder if there’s going to be an explenation to this in the sleeve notes by Carl-Magnus Palm.

    I am still happily surprised that Ring Ring also got the deluxe edition treatment. It is a great album and often ignored. I wonder will there a deluxe edition for Waterloo, or is the 2004 anniversary edition considered as such.

  • Deluxe allright, but the record sleeve is -as with ‘Waterloo’ and ‘ABBA’, tampered with. It is sort of ok, but ‘Ring Ring’ was not an ABBA album, and it didn’t have these fonts and the 1976 logo.

    Great work done by Carl Magnus Palm as always: look forward to reading his essay 🙂

    The bonus tracks: most of us in Scandinavia had the original release with the swedish and english versions of Ring Ring: for us it will not be a bonus track: it was always there. But the rest of Europe didn’t.

    I was hoping Universal would trace down the radio tapes from Swedish Radio from September 29th 1970 which EMI used for Fridas double cd 1967-72 years ago: on that very reel is a recording of the foursome performing ‘Hej Gamle Man’ live, apparently. EMI used the part where Frida sings ‘Barnen Sover’.
    Could we have that as a hidden track, please?

    The other bonus tracks are cool enough: ‘Åh, Vilka Tider’ should have been there, and I would have included the B&B singles following the ‘Lycka’ album: the foursome is taking shape there (‘Tänk Om Jorden…’, ‘Träskofolk’ etc)

    Looking forward to this 🙂

  • This is what Carl Magnus Palm writes about Åh, vilka tider:
    “In addition to the relevant non-album single sides from the era (the exception being ‘Åh vilka tider’, the B-side of the Swedish ‘Ring Ring’ single, which was vetoed by the former ABBA members) we’ve also included a few tracks that will hopefully add to…”
    Why would they veto this song?


  • Now that’s some very unexpected news, to have the Billy G-son and Jarl Kulle tracks as extras!! I wonder if these will be mastered from original tapes or vinyl… Also nice with “En hälsning till våra parkarrangörer”, but of course a shame that “Åh, vilka tider” isn’t included.

  • Why doesn´t these deluxe editions mirror the original Polar label releases?
    First of all, as everybody probably know, they weren´t even called ABBA.
    And secondly, Why doesn´t the cd open with the Swedish version of Ring ring?
    The English version should follow He is your brother.
    Not She´s my kind of girl,witch was a Björn and Benny release, not Björn,Benny, Agnetha & Frida.
    I know the latter was included on later international editions, but i thought a “deluxe” ed. was ment to showcase a group/artist work the best possible way. Not the way international recordlabels wanted.

    Oh and last but not least, Frida recorded a BEUTIFUL version of Lycka, produced by Benny, for her first solo album.
    why not include it as a bonustrack as well?
    And what about Agnethas Swedish solo version of Disillusion (Mina ôgon)?

  • The biggest omission from the DVD in my opinion is the Danish TV performance of LOVE ISN’T EASY filmed at “Tivoli” in Copenhagen – small excerpts of that TV recording were shown some years ago on a Danish TV Abba special as many will remember. That song was also released as a single in Denmark spending a few weeks in the Top 30

Please leave a comment...