Benny nominated for second Guldbagge Award

On Monday 18 January, the winners of the Swedish Film Institute’s 51st Guldbagge Awards will be announced, Benny Andersson has been nominated for ‘Best Music’ for his Cirkeln score.

The Guldbagge are Sweden’s leading film awards and considered the equivalent of a BAFTA (British Acadamy of Film and Television Arts).

Benny with his 2013 Guldbagge for 'Palme'.
Benny won in 2013 for ‘Palme’.

They have been presented each year since 1964 in recognition of an outstanding contribution to Swedish film making. Nominees are selected by a 36 strong committee, made up of professionals with extensive experience in the film industry.

This year, Benny has been nominated in the ‘Best Music’ category for his score of RMV Film’s 2015 teenage fantasy Cirkeln (The Circle). He has competition for the prized award from composers, Jon Ekstrand for Det vita folket (White People) and Lisa Holmqvist for Flocken (Flocking).

Cirkeln has also received nominations in two other categories: Best Makeup (Jenny Fred) and Best Visual Effects (IXOR).

In 2013 Benny won a Guldbagge for his score of the film Palme (Älskad och hated), a documentary about the life of Sweden’s former Prime Minister, Olof Palme. Afterwards, Benny described the award, which was originally designed by artist Karl Axel Pehrson in the form of a Rose Chafer beetle, as “kind of ugly-beautiful”.

If he wins again, Benny’s prize will certainly differ slightly from the one he received in 2013, as each 1.2kg statue is a unique work of art, handcrafted in copper, then individually enamelled and gilded.

Benny has told icethesite that he will attend the award ceremony at Stockholm’s Cirkus theatre.

Monday’s ceremony will be broadcast live on SVT1 at 18.00 (GMT)

The nominations for Best Original Music. The eventual winner was Lisa Holmqvist.
The nominations for Best Original Music. The eventual winner was Lisa Holmqvist.

There’s more…

Please leave a comment...